2013 marks the 10 year anniversary of my service in AmeriCorps. What an amazing 10 months it was! So every so often I'll post a tid bit from the past. If you don't like it too bad. I want to do it :)
This first one is actually a poem I wrote in a English 101. Looking back on a seemingly small but important event.
Red Wings
I opened the box and my eyes lit up
Boots of my very own, Red Winds were their name.
Brand new rubber soled,
With seven inches of leather.
I slipped them on with glee,
They fit just perfectly.
I laced them up good and tight.
They were still a little stiff,
But the day had just begun.
The hike wasn't too long
Only a mile or so, but I could tell
There boots might not do too well.
When we stopped to get ready to work
I took some time to re-lace my boot.
Not so tight this time
I hoped it would help.
There was still a long day ahead
And I was far from a bed.
We worked all morning and afternoon,
I tried to put up a fight.
To forget about the seams
That had rubber their nasty little faces into my foot.
The burning and aching almost made me cry.
Sometimes during the day I thought I would die.
After work we all came home.
I took off my boots with a sigh.
Next off go the socks
Followed by a terrible stench.
I pulled my left foot into my lap
And I saw something and gave it a tap.
That was it, the trial of my day,
A big fat blister on my toe.
I put some ice on it
To ease the pain.
I thought about cutting off the toe.
That would end my woe.
Six weeks went by in a flash.
The blister was a fadded memory.
It was time to leave,
This place we called home.
Now my boots were broken in,
And they were like second skin.
---By the way I still own these boots and love how they feel.
Friday, February 22, 2013
10 years
brought to you by Crys Kaestner at 12:57 AM 0 comments
Labels: Blogging, Fun, Happy, History, Just Because
Thursday, August 25, 2011
Information
First off let me start with a disclaimer. This post is to inform everyone with the many going on's in the Kaestner household. But during this process you may find that there is too much info for your liking on somethings and then on other topics there may not be enough information for you. If you are interested in more you'll have to contact me directly and even then I may not give it up. Also I'm going to vent a little of my frustrations and thoughts, non of this is to offend anyone just to vent. So if you think you may be offended then stop right here.
Okay now for the meat of it.
First off it can be a long drive to Birmingham. It's only about 2 hours away but that first trip down to see the pediatric Gastroenterologist (Gastro) it seemed like forever. I had no idea what he was going to say about Rayne and what his ideas were about her not growing. It didn't turn out too bad. The Gastro was a very nice guy even though his name was Stephen King (No Joke). He listened very nicely to all or our concerns and ordered just about every test in the book. The blood was drawn that day and an appointment was made for three weeks later to have an ultrasound and Barium Swallow X-Ray done. And off we went to grab some lunch and head home.
Three weeks flew by and testing day came. Short story IT WAS AWFUL!!! Rayne was hungry, tired, and did not like being held down for her x-rays. Thankfully I could go in so I could sing to her and she would know I was there. We got the results later that day at the Gastro. The x-ray confirmed Rayne's reflux problem and showed an abnormality with her ovaries. Which meant another specialist. Urggg. On our merry way we went. Only to go back the following month for a repeat ultrasound and a visit with the Endocrinologist.
Our lovely Endocrinologist had the test results before we got to the office. Which were normal this time. She said it was not uncommon for children Rayne's age to have temporary cysts on their ovaries. Slight crisis adverted. But this meant no true answers. She wasn't to worried about Rayne's lack of growth because... "Well she is still getting taller." Really? Okay she is taller but did you see how tall she was to start off with?? You talking about how the child needs to stay on a curve and my child is almost a flat line. Oh well moving on. More blood was drawn and a return visit set up for January. The blood work checked her Thyroid, and Electrolytes. Both were normal. That made me very happy because Thyroid problems run rampant in my family and normal Electrolytes means Rayne is getting the basic food she needs. Lack of growth isn't from lack of food. Now maybe they will believe me when I say that she does eat.
Shortly after this visit Rayne's already iffy sleeping habits take a serious turn for the worse. Back in January Rayne had settled into a pattern that left me tired but was extremely predictable. Length of time and time of day were consistent almost to the minute. Around May things slowly declined. We tried more food, cooling the house, more cuddle time during the day. Sleeping with her at night. We even invested in a new sleep chair. Some of these things helped but never for long. In June Rayne started waking up every 45-90 minutes. Sometimes she would go to sleep with just a bottle, or rocking. Other times she would be up for 2-3 hours. And nap time was almost non existent. I didn't know what to do.
Since the biggest culprit seemed to be her breathing we went to the Pulmonolgist. Oh did that visit suck for some many reasons. First he bashed our family doctor, Dr. Richards, who I love and has be wonderful for us. He was the one that pinned Rayne with her condition and got us into the Pulmonolgist in the first place. Oh and Dr. Richards diagnosed Rayne by what we told him and being in the same room for 5 minutes. Rayne was seeing someone else that day but Dr. Richards wanted to check on her. So her was my Pulmonolgist saying that I needed to change doctors because Residents are dumb and we should have more specialized care. And Dr. Richards shouldn't be stumped by Rayne not sleeping. HELLO!!! Rayne currently has 3 specialist stumped. Why can't the Family Doctor be stumped too?? Secondly the Pulmologist tried to scare me into giving Rayne shots. Telling me stories and saying that kids die if they don't get vaccinated. Okay I'm not an idiot and I'm not not doing shots because I think the medical world is wack or I believe it will give my child autism or that they are useless. We are WAITING to do shots because first off family history. Both sides have shown a wide variety of reactions to shots. I get site infections and end up on antibiotics, Fred will get sick for nearly two weeks. Nope don't feel like putting my child threw that. Secondly, I am a stay at home mom who gives breast milk to Rayne. And if there is an outbreak I'm completely fine with quarantining in my house. Lastly Rayne has gets poked and prodded enough for reasons she can't understand. I'm not going to add to it if I don't have too. Anyway--------So I left there with no answers and really angry. I still like our Pulmonogist but I hope I never have to do that again.
A couple weeks later we went back to the Gastro. He actually wanted to help Rayne sleep. His thought was maybe her reflux wasn't under control and waking her up. So we left with two more reflux meds to see if that would help. Well it wasn't the miracle we were hoping for but things have gotten better. Rayne no longer needs to sleep in a chair, we have moved her into the pack n play! The sleep isn't perfect but we are up to four hour blocks of sleep more often. WAHOOO!!! There are still a lot of nights we have to sleep with Rayne in arms but it's a little better.
This past week Rayne got some sort of bug but we are on the up swing of that. Yesterday she decided it would be fun to get her first bug bites. Fire Ant bites!! She didn't even cry, but gosh are they nasty looking. We have a follow up with the doctor about her flu-ish thing tomorrow and I'll get the bites looked at too.
In Fred News
We finally have his reflux under control. It took three different prescriptions to find the right one but we got there. He also had to have a scope and they found several abrasions on his esophagus. That was why the pain of is reflux was so severe and long lasting. So a couple weeks of an extra med to help heal the abrasions and life is looking good. He is still battling some insomnia, but he is holding up well.
Fred has been really great at helping me out. I have to tell him exactly what I need but after that he is right there. Fred is also a great Priesthood leader. He is a driving force behind family scriptures, prayer and Family Home Evening. Are we perfect HA!!!!! But the increased frequency has brought the spirit into our home and during this time where really no one is sleep we are still getting along and peace is pretty well maintained.
For me, well Rayne's life is kind of my life right now. But there are a few highlights
--There are three times a day my life really stinks. Its when I have to give Rayne her medicine. I hope no one I knows ever have to do what I do.
--I'm so very done with people telling me how little their kids where and how just one day their kids where caught up. I understand they are just trying to be kind but what makes you think I want to hear about your child's growth spurt at 9 months??? It is kind of funny to say that Rayne is almost a year and watch those people's faces drop.
--I do LOVE how people fawn over how cute and precious Rayne is. A lot of that has to do with how little she is and how bright those eyes are but Rayne loves it when people smile at her.
Thursday, March 4, 2010
Bright Colors
I'm ready for spring (if you can't tell by the new lay out) bright colors, warm weather, swimming, and sun bathing.
Other than that life is pretty good. The house is on the market with lots of showings happening so more exposure means a better chance for an offer. So keep those fingers crossed!!!
The baby hand-me-downs are starting to come in. Oh it's sooo much fun, all those little things. And less for me to have to find later ;) Yes technically it's more things to pack and move but oh so worth it.
Fred is just hanging out in Alabama. Making friends working and chilling with the cat.
That's pretty much our life right now, how have the rest of you been?
Wednesday, January 27, 2010
Just an Update
Life for us has been a little crazy lately. First off Fred started his new job with Comcast in Huntsville, Alabama. He has survived the first few days and is looking forward to many more with the company. I have remained in Louisville to finish the work on our house to put it on the market. My parents have done so much and thank goodness the end is almost in sight. Then we can have the house on the market and pray it sells quickly so Fred and I can be reunited.
I’d also like to settle into our new life in Alabama before the baby comes. Did you catch that? Yes baby. My mom and I went to my fist OB appointment yesterday and got to see the little tadpole. Didn’t get to hear the heartbeat yet but everything is looking fine. I’m 7 weeks now which puts the due date at September 11th, 2010. Fred and I are both very excited about being parents and really starting a whole new life in Alabama.
Well that’s the news for now :)
Wednesday, January 13, 2010
Yes Alabama, That's Where We Are Going
There is nothing you can do to stop us! We are going to Alabama. And yup we are excited!!!! Well we are excited to be in Alabama not so much about the process of getting there. Anyway...
The Details
Fred accepted a new job with Comcast in Hunstville, Alabama. He will be doing the same type of job with the same title. But it's a great career move. Comcast is a national company so there is a lot more room for growth and promotions, but they like to treat their people as if it was still a small company. With good benefits, small team sizes, hands on training, and personal attention. Also if you are wonder yes Comcast is the company buying the majority of NBC from GE... which is exciting.
Fred heads down on the 22nd of January and starts work on the following Monday. He is going to be staying with some friends while we figure out exactly what is going to happen with the house and we locate an apartment for us to live in.
My parents and I have been working on getting the house ready for the market. Mom, Christina ( a good friend of mine) and I have been doing a ton of painting. A bedroom, a bathroom, and a kitchen so far. The missionaries were here yesterday and moved a TON of furniture around for staging and even put up a couple of our lights. The electrician will be here Thursday to put in the rest of the lights and mom and I will be doing more painting as the week goes on. We also seriously need to start packing. Going through my "deal with later boxes" and figure out exactly what is going and what is trash.
So our lives are crazy and the house is a mess but we are very excited about what the future holds.
Later Days!
Sunday, December 6, 2009
Two Months
So I've been a total slacker and haven't posted in about two months. What a couple of months we've had.
Fred- Is working like a mad man. Papa Johns had 5 drive quit all in one week and as they started to hire more drivers they started getting busy on a daily basis. Which means lots of shifts for Fred. So the guy wakes up around 6am goes to Insight works there until about 5 then goes straight to Papa Johns and delievers pizza until 11-11:30 at night. Comes home spends a little time with me and heads off to bed around 1am. He is such a trooper :) I try to meet up with him in between the two jobs, take him dinner if he wants it. But a chance to see him and break up my day is nice. At home he still does anything he can to help out. He vacuums, does dishes, and will even help with laundry :)
Me- Like I said I've been a slacker. I wanted to have the house is much better shape than it is. I'm not going to make my January 1st listing date. I really want to get the house listed, well of course it's kind of essential to selling a house but also spring is right around the corner and I don't want to miss it. I have gotten some things done. The basement is really close to being done. We need to put the new tiles in and finish laying the baseboards and door trims. Then we can move all the furniture around and have that room ready to show.
I've also gotten back to my photography. I actually had TWO shoots yesterday. It was nice to have the work, but I need to be doing curls with my camera or something because my shoulder is a little stiff this morning.
Oh the shoulder, it's doing great. I have 90% range of motion. I still have a really hard time getting behind my back but it does go there. That will take time as long as I keep working it. And strength will come back slowly. But honesty for 11 weeks out of surgery I'm doing great. Sadly I'm done with PT. I really liked my physical therapy office, not to mention those appointments helped me remember what day it was. But it is nice to know that I'm functioning well enough that I don't have to be there.
Well I'm sure I'm forgetting something but oh well I'm sure it will come up later if it's important enough. Hope you all had a good Thanksgiving and are preparing for a fantastic Christmas.
Friday, September 18, 2009
So that's what you've been doing?
Time has just been flying. It probably doesn't help that I have been doing everything and anything all day long. Today I think will be the first day in two weeks that I haven't done anything to get ready for the surgery. I spend my days cleaning the house, cooking meals for after the surgery and finishing up any renovations I can.
I did spend some time in Tennessee hanging out with my family and taking dress pictures. I took pictures of about 65 wedding dress. Most of them
with trains that needed their own photos. I did most of the photos at night while everyone was asleep and during the day I hung out with Bre and the kids. That was a lot of fun.
The day after I returned to Kentucky I had a photo shoot. We had a perfect day for it. Not too hot or cold, the flowers were still in bloom and the family was just adorable to begin with. I finished editing and uploading photos about 5 minutes before Matt and Bethany showed up for their shoot. They wanted some Maternity photos which was nice to experiment with. Thank goodness we didn't wait to take them. Their little girl Aurora DeLuna Mussman was born this morning.
Wednesday I had to get my teeth cleaned, they found a few cavities, I have to back in next week to get those fixed. After the dentist I went and had an adjustment. Boy oh boy did that hurt. My shoulder was not very happy, but I am sleeping much better. Which is fantastic because I was really starting to run on fumes. I was getting 10 hours of sleep but it was so poor that I would be dead on my feet in a couple of hours. The last couple nights have gone much better.
Yesterday was cooking day. I spent 6 hours in my kitchen. I roasted a chicken and pealed it, made enchiladas for dinner, hamburger helpers to put in the freezer for later, food for the party and don't forget the cheesecake for grandmother's b-day dinner. (Still need an entree idea but I have desert).
For the next two weeks I should be able to slow down. I have a couple more rooms to clean and a few things to make for my b-day party. I have to have that all done by next Saturday.
Next Saturday I have a full hour shoot in the early morning, and then at 10 we start our "Day at the Temple" shoot. Where people can come and for $10 I'll take their photos for 10 minutes. They also get to walk away with their CD of photos. That will end around 2pm. That will be a long day. Oh and Eli's b-day is on the 29th so I'll be taking pictures then too. It's photo mania!!!!!
Whats funny is no one is trying to tell me to slow down. It is wonderful to not hear that. I know it's because everyone know that once I have the surgery I will be at a dead stop, and I will get any rest I'm missing out on. But it's still nice to not have to hear "Slow down, you'll hurt yourself" or "It will wait" or "It doesn't really have to be done." It reminds me of the good ole days when I didn't hear that. ;)
Friday, May 29, 2009
oh my... can you believe... but really??? wow!!!
What a day yesterday was for me. It started of with an appointment with the Orthopedist. It was a rather painful experience (she stretched and pulled my are to check motion). But it had a good out come. There is no fracture, not even hair line and she believes that there is no rip in the tendon or ligaments. But she was impressed with how bad the bone bruise is. So on Monday I start physical therapy and if I'm not showing progress in 3 weeks then we will start looking for soft tissue damage. The doctor also gave me a new med so that I don't hurt as much. It's fantastic stuff, I still feel pain but I can move my arm now. She also has my arm out of the sling :)
Shortly after getting home and wonderful little box showed up. It was my camera! Home from it's long journey to Texas to be repaired. The Service Center had to replace the CF Drive Deck. Which is the part that writes files, and reads files from the memory card. The whole thing was faulty. So there was no way they could fight the warranty. I'm not sure they would have Sony has been really good during this whole ordeal. The tech even called
me the day he finished to let me know it would soon be in the mail. And they sent me the tracking code to follow it home. I am very happy with these guys.
Then it was off to the salon to get a hair cut. My arm is out of the sling but I still can't do my hair, the ability to hold my arm over my head just isn't there. So Fred helped me pick out a style online, and I printed out a picture. Took it down to the salon and I had a great stylist we had a great time. We started talking about my photo business and she hired me to do pictures of her girls. :) And she wanted some of my cards so she can help spread the word. So life is pretty good!
Saturday, August 16, 2008
Our New Addition

This is our new Piano!!!!! I'm on a group called FreeCycle, which is a national organization that people can use to get rid of things and find new things all for free. You can post things you are looking for or things you want to get rid of. Then people let you know if they want them. Well I have been missing having a piano in the house. It just doesn't feel quite like home. So I posted on FreeCycle to see if anyone had a piano they wanted to get rid of. And sure enough I found one. It is a full upright piano and quite the beast. We enlisted the help of our friends to help us move it. Getting that sucker up the stoop and up the stairs was very difficult. But they managed :) Fred says that the piano either stays with the house or some else has to come pick it up. But he refuses to move it again. I'm thinking maybe I should start giving piano lessons to save up for the next piano. Or maybe the people to move it if we ever more. Who knows? What I do know is that it does need some refinishing. They people I took it from already started the sanding, so someday I'll finish that. But for right now I'm happy that I have a piano of my very own, that I can play whenever I want. Oh this is so great :)
brought to you by Crys Kaestner at 12:58 PM 0 comments
Sunday, June 22, 2008
Rocks, Drops, Slips, and Trips
What a day Friday was. Fred took the day off work so we could have a nice three day weekend together, and simply so we could spend a day together doing what we wanted without chores. So really a day off from the world. And what better place to hide from the world than underground, around 250 feet underground. If you haven't guessed it already we went down to Mammoth Cave for the day. We drove down and took the New Entrance Tour. That wasn't the tour we were hoping for but it was the one
available. It is a two hour tour that goes through 3/4 of a mile of the cave. The trip down was probably my favorite. You enter in through a bunker door, and walk take 280 stairs down. But these stairs are not your normal everyday stairs, you have to duck, turn, squeeze, while the steps went around over, and under the rocks. Why did we have such a crazy path you may ask, well it was the natural route they found after blasting the entrance in. There were also parts where
you could look up at a cavern 40ft high from where you stood and another 40ft below you. Fred was not a fan of that part because he doesn't like heights. Silly boy. Another thing what was pretty cool was they sat us all in one room and turned off the lights. It was complete and total darkness, and if no one talked you could have complete and utter silence. That was a creepy thought. Our guide told us a story of a man who fell behind the tour group and when the lights turned off (which is done by the second guide in the rear) he didn't say anything. He just figured he would wait until the next group came along.
What he didn't know was that the next group wasn't due for another 24hrs. When they found him he was sitting on the trail singing. He said the silence was so terrible he had spent the whole time singing every song he knew. The other part of the tour that both Fred and I liked was what is referred to as Frozen Niagara. Which as you can imagine looks like a frozen waterfall. Underneath it was the drapery room, filled with formations looking like drapers and curtains hung from the ceiling and the wall. After the tour Fred and I drove home and had a wonderful dinner of tacos. I had already precooked the meat so from the time we walked in the door to eating was less than 15 minutes. And it was very satisfying of a meal.
Next in our plans was watching our Netflix movie, "Guess Who's Coming To Dinner?". The original one with Sidney Poitier and Kathryn Hepburn, which a very fun movie. More language than I remember but still less than the movies today. At one point during the movie I had a phone call, so I went upstairs to take it. On my way back to the TV room I was attacked by 6 carpeted things masquerading as stairs. All of a sudden they just leaped out at me and I tried to kick them with both feet, I used my right shin to block a hit, and my left arm well it was just caught in the middle. Needless to say the stairs left me in shambles and I didn't even so much as change the grain in the carpet. Well maybe I did that but the stairs still got the best of me. I spent the rest of the night huddled in my husband's arms trying to get comfortable as the bumps and bruises started to appear. And trying to sooth the several scrapes I had so suddenly acquired.
Today had been a rough day as well, my fall last night threw my body for a loop and sent me into a Fibro flare. I've spent most of my day on the couch watching movies and Fred play his game. I did get a nap too. The bruise count is up to ten the worst one being on my left elbow, it covers the interior of my elbow hinge and has a rug burn in the middle. Any time I touch that part of my arm on anything it hurts. The second worst in my right shin. But that I was expecting because shin shots always hurt. Other than that I'm doing well and in a few days I'm sure I'll be back to normal. Well as normal as I get. :)
In other news, Fred as a new position at work. He is now the Special Projects Team Supervisor. We are both very excited for this new position. It means a steady Monday-Friday 8am-5pm gig and it will be a new challenge. I am really proud of Fred for taking this step, he decided all on his own that he would apply for the job. And this job isn't exactly his comfort zone, he is pushing himself to learn and do something new. I am very glad he is taking this chance and know he is up to the task. So if you talk to Fred, ask him about his new job and tell him how proud you are. This is a big step and although he doesn't require much in the way of verbal affirmations sometimes it's just nice to hear.
Tuesday, June 10, 2008
Kentucky Kingdom
Today was a fun day. Fred and I slept in and skipped playing Racquetball so we could spend all of our energy at the Kentucky Kingdom-Six Flags. We went with my parents (Brian and Darcy), little brother (Eli) and nephew (Brandon). What prompted this trip was Brandon. He is up visiting my parents for the week and they wanted to do something special and fun for him. And since we have a six flags so close mom and dad decided it would be a good place to go. I love spending time with my family and I don't get to spend nearly enough time with my nephew so I wanted to join them of course. And as luck would have it Fred had to take the day off work so he could do his sleep study. But he didn't have to be at the hospital until 8:30pm. So we bought season passes (they were on sale) and went to the park with everyone else.
would slide from one side of the car to the other. The first time it happened it caught him off guard but after that he thought that was the best part. Wednesday, April 23, 2008
A Good Day
I just want everyone to know today has been a very, very, very good day.
Here is the Top Ten List:
10) I Made cupcakes and delivered them to Fred at work.
9) I picked up my new medication.
8) I organized a back office at work.
7) Fred came home from work on time.
6) For the first time in weeks I've felt really good! And actually got things done.
5) It was nearly 80 degrees all day and not an ounce of humidity.
4) Fred and I turned his car from gray to it's original white (we washed it)
3) I barely hurt all day.
2) Julie Joyce Nutter was born (Niece #5, bringing the total Nieces and Nephews to 17)
And the number one reason it's been a very, very, very good day is........
1) I'm madly in love with my husband :)
brought to you by Crys Kaestner at 12:05 AM 1 comments
Monday, April 21, 2008
Our Start
brought to you by Crys Kaestner at 9:32 PM 1 comments



